National United Church Ushers Association of America, Inc.

Young Adult Department

  • Jamal Edwards-Frayer
    28th Young Adult President

  • Sonja Merida

  • William "Tony" Northern

The NUCUAA consisted of two departments, the Senior Department and the Junior and Young Peoples Department. At the end of the convention in Boston, Mass 1967 another department was proposed. The older Juniors and Young People organized a Young Adult Department under the great leadership of President, Leroy Johnson who was from the State of California.

There were representatives from a few states. The first counselor was Lubertha O. Hill from Pennsylvania. The first President was Alberta Jones from New York. President Jones’ first order of business was to encourage the Young Adults to go back to their respective states and organize a Young Adult Department. They would meet on a trial basis in Chicago, Illinois 1968 for their first annual session. It was the decision of the National Seniors to place the newly organized Young Adult Department on trial basis.

The Young Adults did meet in Chicago in 1968. A full slate of officers were elected. The first meeting also consisted of a recommendation for a Ways and Means Project to raise money for the department. Since the State of California already had a Young Adult Department, they were very helpful during the implementation stages in both the organizing meeting in 1967 and the first meeting in 1968.

In 1969, the National Convention was held in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Raymond A. Smith was National President. More states came into the department. Doris Gilton of California was selected by Counselor Hill to speak on behalf of the National Young Adult Department. We were blessed to have had Harry Daniels, Senior Second Vice President from the State of Ohio to be presiding at that time because Vice President Daniels carried the motion to make the Young Adult Department an official part of the National United Church Ushers Association of America, Inc. This happened at the most befitting time and place, because Philadelphia, Pennsylvania is where the National was organized by Elijah Hamilton.

The Young Adults set an objective:

To Unite all Young Adults in the United States, who are ushers of the Christian Churches, regardless of denominational affiliation, race or creed, into one grand organization. To close the generation gap between our Junior and Senior Departments. To promote the religious, mutual and social relationship among members.

Chartered members are as follows: Doris Gilton, Blanche L. Sutton, Mattie L. Gardette, Alberta Jones, Ollie Bennett, Mary Alice Gordon, Leroy Johnson, Lexola Cannon, Saundra Reed, Elaine Harris, Miriam Cherry, Olivia Campbell, Ruth Williams, Myriele Moore, Vera Williams, Ernest Sisson, Jr., Eloise Brittan, Barbara Mallory, Lubertha O. Hill and Coretta Nunley.

The Young Adults needed a project to raise funds. In 1969 the Birthday Calendar was born. California suggested the Calendar Queen Contest and was instrumental in completing the first Birthday Calendar. The calendar is still successful and still used today as the major source of funds for the Young Adult Department. God has truly smiled on the Young Adult Department because they have had wonderful counselors and co-counselors, good presidents, but above all truly dedicated young adult members.

Young Adult Requirements:

The individual must be a member of his/her church usher board, local and state.  Age 21 - 35.


Alberta Jones, NY
President Emeritus
1967 - 1973
Ollie Bennett, PA
Honorary President
1973 - 1976
Mattie Gardette, CA 
1976 - 1978
Arthur Barker, Jr., IL
1978 - 1980
Gloria Johnson, PA
1980 - 1982
Patricia Holmes, CA
1982 - 1984
Frieda Alston, DC
1984 - 1986
Milton Bean, CA
1986 - 1988
Edith Baxter, TX
1988 - 1989
Robert Bedford, IN
1989 - 1991

Anthony Powell, WA 
1991 - 1993
Rev. Lamar Jones, TX 
1993 - 1994
LaRonda Frazier, CA 
1994 - 1996
Ralph Guy, PA
1996 - 1998
Timothy Douglas, NY
1998 - 2000
Roslyn Moore, DC
2000 - 2002
Lesa Johnson, OH
2002 - 2004
Keith Minnifield, GA
2004 - 2006 
Ka'Leigha Lawrence CT    2006 - 2007  Jacqueline Nesbitt, MO
2007 - 2009

Shaen L. Wright, TX
2009 - 2011
Latasha L. Pettis, CO
2011 - 2012
Christie Justice, TX
2012 - 2014
Tamara Lamond, NY
2014 - 2016
Arthus J. Gass, Jr IL
2016 - 2019
Antoinette Guerrero, NY
2019 - 2021
Destinee Merida, TX
2021 - 2023
Jamal E. Frayer, NY
2023 - present