National United Church Ushers Association of America, Inc.

Junior and Young People's Department

Click to enlarge picture

The Junior Department of the National United Ushers Association can trace its history to the efforts of one dynamic girl named Susie Gomes. She was born in South Carolina to devoted God-Fearing Parents. When Susie was still very young, her family moved to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania where they joined the African Methodist Episcopal Church. Susie immediately began working in the usual youth groups of the Church, but she still felt the need to do more.

In early teens, she heeded the call to do missionary work. Soon other youths began accompanying her on her rounds as she visited the sick and shut-in bringing them sunshine and cheer. Noticing that all of the ushers in her church were adults, she decided to organize a Junior Board so that she and her friends could better serve the church.

She sought permission from her pastor for such a project and won his approval. Her first efforts were so successful, she decided to branch out and began encouraging youth in churches of other faiths to organize. In a few short years, she had organized local and state groups similar to the Senior Ushers Organization.

In July 1940, Susie along with a group of other youths petitioned the National United Ushers Association who were meeting in their Annual Convention in Dallas, Texas, for permission to organize a Junior Unit of our organization. From that beginning, the Junior National Department has grown to an unimaginable volume, fulfilling the needs of young people in churches throughout this country. Its success can be attributed to a young lady who was kind in disposition, noble in heart who had a burning desire to serve and let nothing stand in her way. She was a credit to her family, her race, her church and her community.

Age Requirements: The individual must be a member of his/her church usher board, local and state. Ages 8 - 21.


Robert Rufus West,IL
First President
Lubertha O. Hill, PA
1947 - 1952
Betty S. Payne, NY 
1952 - 1956
Naomi McKeathen, DC 
1956 - 1960
Blanche Sutton, CA
1960 - 1963
Robert Green, NY
1963 - 1966
Virginia Stamper, WI
1986 - 1968
Sylester Williams, IL
1968 - 1971
Monica G. Lee, OH
1971 - 1974
McKenning Wade, CA
1974 - 1975



Lloyd Morse, MD 
1975 - 1977
Denise Wallace, IL
1977 - 1980
Cheryl Barker, WI 
1980 - 1981
Karen Smith, DC
1981 - 1984
Roderick Jackson, CA
1984 - 1986
Nichelle Grey, MA
1986 - 1988
Joleathia Minnifield, GA
1988 - 1989
Gina Frizzell, MA
1989 - 1990
Rebecca Jowers, IL
1990 - 1992
Erika L. Harris
1992 - 1993
Manelka Wade, MD
1993 - 1996
Darnell Ward, CO
1996 - 1998
Giovanni Flack, NY
1998 - 2001
Thomas Savage, IL
2001 - 2003
LaTasha Ruffin, MA
2003 - 2004
Willie Granderson, IL
2004 - 2006
Chanel Patrick, CO
2006 - 2008
Alexander Fawra,DE
2008- 2010
Devonte Walton, WI
2010 - 2011
Tyneka A. Riddick, DC
2011 - 2012

Jarius Nero, AZ
2012 - 2013
Destinee Merida, TX
2013 - 2016
Julious Patin, CA
2015 - 2016
Joshua Marvels, TX
2016 - 2019
Ayanna Clay, IL
2019 - 2021
Jordan Paige, NY
2021 - 2022
Brian Valentine, Il
2022 - Present